The Best Personal Development Book You Can Read

H.K. Holland
4 min readJun 10, 2021

The Bible tops them all

Photo by Susan Q Yin on Unsplash

Of late, I have been struggling with something. Like most users of Medium, I am a voracious reader.

The number of books I have read comes to about 400. Yeah, I keep count, and I write them down. At one point, I wanted to write notes and share them here, just like Derek Sivers and James Clear do on their websites.

But I gave up on the project because I have seen other people do a better job than I could. Even some people here. Every Medium user knows Tim Denning. He seems to have the hugest body of work on this platform. But I see he sometimes does something like that. He reads a book, and he tells you about it.

The thing about books is that they are the envelopes of the soul. When you read a book, you absorb the life of the person who wrote it. Yes, people put their lives in books. Now, when you read many, you absorb many lives.

Reading all those 400 books kind of made me to stop reading a lot. Because I didn’t see the point of adding on to that collection. I realized perhaps I could spend another decade re-reading them. And understanding the concepts.

Then I read the Bible.

I don’t know why people don’t love the Bible and yet they claim to love all these personal…

--

--